Council of Europe Adopts Convention on Action Against Trafficking in Human Beings
Wednesday, May 18, 2005 2:10 PM

On 3 May 2005, the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe adopted three treaties, including the Convention on action against trafficking in human beings. The purpose of this Convention is to counter and prevent trafficking in persons that takes place nationally and internationally. The Convention does not require a link to organized crime and incorporates victim protection, as well as a monitoring mechanism to ensure states parties' compliance.

The Convention was opened for signature at the Warsaw Summit on 16-17 May 2005. Countries that have signed onto the Convention include: Armenia, Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Iceland, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro and Sweden.