Country Evaluations 15 Years after the Beijing Platform for Action
Monday, November 9, 2009 11:30 AM

09 November 2009

The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe released national reports designed to evaluate and appraise the success and status of the Beijing Platform for Action (BPFA). The BPFA, passed by the U.N. in 1995 during the U.N. Fourth World Conference on Women, aimed to empower women by improving gender equality globally by working with local and national policy makers, governments, non-governmental organizations, and institutions throughout the world. In response to the questionnaire, each country outlined its progress in furthering women’s rights and social, economic, legal and political equality since the implementation of the BPFA. 

The countries with released national reports include Albania, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgystan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, the Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The FYR Macedonia, Turkey, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, and Uzbekistan.

Compiled from:
The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, "Beijing +15" (31 October 2009).